Archive | 12:00 pm

My #pharma #GST story : A study in customer satisfaction

4 Jul

I don’t usually get too personal in my blogposts but this, I had to write.  A month ago, my chemist suddenly stopped supplying my preferred brand of iron pills. Each time I asked, the reply would be, “Supply nahin aa raha hai.”

Now, I am very particular about my brand of iron for two reasons. One, not all salts of iron agree equally well with all women. The wrong salt can cause a digestive side-effect that I’d rather not go into. This is the reason why many women, in the past, would abandon their iron supplements – they couldn’t tolerate the side-effects. These days, there are several more options.This brand contained a salt that agreed beautifully with me. Two, it was effective. I could seriously make out the difference when I wasn’t taking it regularly. There were probably other brands of the same salt but as my doctor had prescribed this and it worked, I stuck to it religiously.

Given this background, and of course my own former profession, I decided to take matters into my own hands. I called the closely-held, probably small-to-mid-sized, drug company, based in Mumbai which owned the brand and asked to speak to the brand manager. Continue reading

